It’s sunny!

Today was the first sunny day in Rio since I arrived 2 days ago, so of course I had to go to the beach! But first, I made breakfast:

Toast with "requeijão" (cream cheese) and some scrambled eggs with ham.

Toast with “requeijão” (cream cheese) and some scrambled eggs with ham.

The beach turned out to be terrible. Just kidding. It was everything I had hoped and dreamed. The sun was very warm, but the breeze was cool, although not too cool. I drifted in and out of sleep (with one arm or my head on my bag of course), read some of my Brazil guidebook, and people-watched.

IMG_2207

Contrary to popular belief, not all Brazilians are devastatingly sexy.

Yesterday I managed to visit two apartments AND go to the bank to withdraw rent money. How’s that for productive eh? Had a nice long chat with family as well, followed by late night movie time with Berna (we watched The Barbarian Invasions — though mildly touching, we both found it pretty dull).

Here are some photos of the apartments I visited.

Apartment 1:

  • 1,400 reais (~$710 USD)
  • Pros: Privacy (I have my own bathroom, and a giant veranda that isn’t currently being used. I am 1 of 2 people who live on this floor, which is the top floor). Most of this floor is an open air terrace! Located on the busiest street in Copacabana, 2 blocks from the beach. On the top floor (the 11th floor), so there ain’t no noise.
  • Cons: Privacy — The terrace has a queen-size bed.. which leads me to believe that the landlord or someone else might use this space to entertain during busier months..
Apt 1: Bedroom.

Apt 1: Bedroom.

Apt 1: Terrace...with another bed.

Apt 1: Terrace…with another bed.

Apt 1: Terrace with kitchen.

Apt 1: Terrace with kitchen.

Apartment 2:

  • 1,250 reais (~$630 USD)
  • Pros: Giant bedroom, giant living room, big bathroom, my OWN refrigerator, my own kitchen sink. LOTS of closet space. Cozy. Cheap. Located on the busiest street in Copacabana, 2 blocks from the beach. There’s an adorable cat and an adorable dog, and they’re BFFs it’s SO CUTE.
  • Cons: Sharing the space with a retired 80 year old French man. Turns out he had been married to a Brazilian woman and has lived in Brazil for 50 years, but she passed away 2 years ago. Meow ;___;
Apt 2: The bedroom.

Apt 2: The bedroom.

Apt 2: The living room. Also, the roommate.

Apt 2: The living room. Also, the roommate.

Leave a Reply

