First BJJ Class!

Went to the internet cafe today to print out some of my documents to register with the Federal Police here (something all foreigners have to do if they stay in Brazil for more than 90 days). Afterwards, I took some of these documents to Banco do Brasil (Bank of Brazil, obviously) to pay the R$ 200 or so fee (about $100 USD). Yay, Step 1 of 2 done! Next step is to go to the federal police department and actually register.

Stopped by a little bougie pastry/coffee chain called “Cafeína” since I had heard good things. I… was not impressed.

"Chausson maçã" from Cafeína. Kind of dry and hard.

“Chausson maçã” from Cafeína. Chausson means “slipper” in French apparently, and maçã means apple in Portuguese. Kind of dry and hard.

Next stop: First BJJ class in.. well, quite some time! I expected to be really rusty, as I was with aerial, but doing a triangle choke, an omoplata, and some kind of sweep-from-guard-that-I-can’t-remember-the-name-of still felt totally intuitive. I didn’t even really think about it, I just did it. Man, muscle memory. The class was an all women class taught by Michelle Tavares, which was awesome. We had two guests that were young boys join us. They were adorable. Am very much looking forward to more BJJ.. :)

I also learned that no-gi BJJ is called “submission” in Portuguese. Weird.

On the way home I tried an açaí with “proteinato” (which, um, I think just means protein). So far, definitely my favoriet açaí! Not as sweet and watery as the classic açaí with guarana syrup.

When I got home I did some laundry, took out some trash, and ate some fruit. The fruit here. God, the fruit.

Everyone should have a clothes drying lines like this in their house!

Everyone should have a clothes drying lines like this in their house!

"Careful! Broken glass" by the trash chute.

“Careful! Broken glass” by the trash chute.

$1.00 USD for delicious juicy watermelon :)

$1.00 USD for delicious juicy watermelon :)

Leave a Reply

