So we took a walk…

It rained like crazy today. ‘Rained’ like typhoon-like winds, water up to your knees, and hard pointy heavy rain drops. Welcome to the rainy season of Rio!

I first met up with fellow grantees Michael and Stuart at Copacabana Beach.

Fellow grantees Michael and Stuart posing in front of the giant bike man on Copacabana beach.

Fellow grantees Michael and Stuart posing in front of the giant bike man on Copacabana beach.

We decided to walk from Copacabana Palace (where we met) to Praia Vermelha. Michael didn’t think it could be done at first, but I insisted. I said, look! Google Maps says you can! I probably trust Google Maps far more than I should.

Nevertheless, we walked and walked, and we did eventually find that it’s possible. In case you’re wondering, it took about 40 minutes at a leisurely pace, and included a 10 minute steep hike uphill. Here’s me at Praia Vermelha finally:

"Praia Vermelha" in Urca. Me.. posing. You can see the cable car line that takes tourists to the top of Sugarloaf Mountain in the background.

“Praia Vermelha” in Urca. Me.. posing. You can see the cable car line that takes tourists to the top of Sugarloaf Mountain in the background.

About 20 minutes after this picture was taken, the torrential downpour started. It came down so hard we were all drenched within a matter of seconds. We ran in to the nearest snack bar, ordered some food, and decided to wait it out. After about an hour, the rain became a light sprinkle, so we made a run for it to the nearest bus station. Our next destination was Cobal do Humaitá, a giant warehouse that houses several “open air” restaurants and bars. It’s considered open air because there’s no door covering the entrance, and the warehouse is really just some roofs patched together really high up.

Cobal do Humaitá: I had a plate of spaghetti with a fresh watermelon juice at the aptly named restaurant, "Spaghetteria."

Cobal do Humaitá: I had a plate of spaghetti with a fresh watermelon juice at the aptly named restaurant, “Spaghetteria.”

My plate of spaghetti was around $10.00 USD. It wasn’t terribly tasty, but it really wasn’t bad either. I probably wouldn’t eat at this restaurant again.

Being that it was a Sunday night and it was pouring out, it seemed a little quieter at Cobal than I think is normal. I also hear there’s an outdoor market during the day on the weekends.

When I got home, I decided to fix my iPhone, since I’ve dropped it so many times at this point. Berna lent me some of her tape, and I learned the following Portuguese words:

  • adhesivo: a sticker
  • fita: tape
  • durex: clear tape (instead of actually saying “clear tape,” they simply refer to clear tape as the name of the brand which is Durex)
I dropped my iPhone, the back cracked a LOT. So then I decided to tape it. Look how beautiful it is!

I dropped my iPhone, the back cracked a LOT. So then I decided to tape it. Look how beautiful it is!

Looks like this whole is going to rain, oh yay! Sarcasm.

Leave a Reply

