Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas & The Difficulty with Buying Apple Software in Brazil

So my MacBook is from like 2009, and I’m still running OS 10.5.8 (Leopard). As time passes, I’m finding that this is starting to get very annoying as I can no longer download recent versions of software, like Google Chrome. As a result, I’m trying to update to the latest OS, which is 10.8 (Mountain Lion). Apparently the only way to do this is to first upgrade to 10.6 (Snow Leopard) using the actual CD install, because you can’t upgrade directly to 10.7 or 10.8 (which are available on iTunes).

This, of course, means that I have to get an actual CD copy of 10.6 (Snow Leopard). I didn’t have any luck at the general tech stores here like Lojas Americanas, so I figured I’d try the Mac Store here. I biked from Copacabana to Ipanema to get to the Mac Store, only to find that, the Mac Store here DOESN’T SELL APPLE SOFTWARE. Only Mac accessories. Seriously? Sigh.

I figured since I was already in Ipanema, I might as well do some exploring, so I walked over to the other side of the neighborhood and found myself at The Lake. Yup, THE lake. (Aka Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas)

Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: Found some egret friends! :)

Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: Found some egret friends! :)

Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: A view of Christ the Redeemer, some birds, and a tree trunk in the lake.

Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: A view of Christ the Redeemer, some birds, and a tree trunk in the lake.

Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: The bike lane that runs around the length of the lake.

Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: The bike lane that runs around the length of the lake.

Later, I met up with a friend in Centro and he introduced me to sugarcane juice!

Sugarcane juice! R$ 2.80 (around $1.50 USD)

Sugarcane juice! R$ 2.80 (around $1.50 USD)  It’s cut with lemon juice, but I still found it rather sugary.

Can’t say it was really my favorite, although it wasn’t exactly because I didn’t like the flavor. It was just a bit intense to drink more than a bit..

I also learned two colloquial phrases having to do with the foot!

  • “Ficar com pé atrás”: This literally translates to “to leave one foot behind,” and it seems to be most widely used within the context of romantic relationships. It refers to when a person isn’t sure that their romantic partner can be trusted. Example: “O marido traiu a esposa e mostrou-se arrependido, mas mesmo assim a mulher fica com pé atrás.” Translation: Though her husband repented after cheating on her, she still has a foot left behind (i.e. she’s still not entirely sure he won’t cheat again). It seems that this phrase represents a state of mind or emotion, rather than being a direct  metaphor for an action, even though the phrase itself indicates a physical action.
  • “Estar de pé”: This translates literally “to be on one’s feet” or “to be standing.” It refers to when plans are “still in place”. Colloquially in English, I would translate it as “to still be on.” For example, “Nosso programa está de pé?” would be translated “Are we still on [for a previously planned event]?”

As for upgrading my Mac OS.. I’ll think I’ll try to look online some more to see if I can get it shipped to me here somewhere.. Chances are I’ll probably need a CPF, damnit..

Leave a Reply

