Forró at Estudantina Musical!

Since my friend Lilly is here in town with her friends Jenna and Leetal, this week will be lots of going out and seeing things. On Tuesday night (March 26th) we went to Estudantina Musical in Lapa to hear some live forró music and, of course, to dance. Even though none of knows how to dance forró, lol.

What is forró?, you ask. Honestly, I have no idea. Even after reading the Wikipedia article on forró, all I’ve gathered is that it hails originally from the Northeast region of Brazil, but is now popular among college-age people in the South as well. My personal impression of it is this: The rhythm is very fast. Very fast. And when you dance, you dance VERY closely to your partner. Like, I’m-humping-your-thigh-I-hope-your-girlfriend-isn’t-jealous closely. Also, an accordion is often used, giving the music a somewhat Middle Eastern and yet rural sound. Don’t ask me what that means. It just sounds both Middle Eastern and rural to me.

Walkin' in to Estudantina Musical for a night of forró dancing!

Walkin’ in to Estudantina Musical for a night of forró dancing!

Estudantina Musical is a pretty historical dance hall. It was opened in the 20s and has been an important fixture on the Brazilian popular music scene for almost a century now. Very cool. :)

The live forró band, Fulano de Que. They were a lot of fun!

The live forró band, Fulano de Que. They were a lot of fun!

Here’s a video of their performance of one of my favorite songs of the night! :)

So the question you may be asking yourself is: Well?? Did you learn how to dance forró?? Ummmmm…. Let’s just say I tried, but didn’t quite get that good at it. I think I have an aversion to dancing in dark, cramp, sweaty spaces while totally sober. It’s one thing if you’re drunk, but I swim in enough man-sweat every day (cough, Jiu Jitsu), I don’t need more. Additionally, it’s not that fun if your back and your feet hurt (because there’s nowhere to sit), and you really can’t get the rhythm right (hahaha!).

However, maybe someday I’ll try again. Preferably in a large, well-lit, spacious dance hall. And preferably with non-sweaty and very attractive people. (I will admit though, that the general population at Estudantina Musical was fairly attractive. I mean, it’s hard to go wrong with a group of men and women in their 20s and 30s who like to dance.)

Caipirinhas and water bottles. We classy.

Caipirinhas and water bottles. We classy.

Leavin' Estudantina Musical after a long night of dancing, sweating, and drinking (water). Also, a couple of girls making out (to the right).

Leavin’ Estudantina Musical after a long night of dancing, sweating, and drinking (water). Also, a couple of girls making out (to the right).

One response to “Forró at Estudantina Musical!

  1. Pingback: The Brazilian Cowboy Holiday (…aka Festa Junina) | RayRay in Rio!·

Leave a Reply

