Churrasco: First Time!

Tonight, Jenna, Leetal, Lilly, and I went to Carretão — a mid-price churrascaria, or Brazilian barbecue joint. The way Brazilians do barbecue is basically skewering giants pieces of meat, and then barbecuing the whole thing. Sometimes they’ll skewer smaller pieces of meats or sausages though. Generally you pay a flat price, and the staff just bring around giant skewers one at a time, stopping at each table (kind of like the carts at dim sum restaurants). They’ll ask guests at each table if they want a piece of the particular meat they’re carrying, and if so, they’ll slice a piece off for you usually something that looks like a machete.

The other part of churrascarias that I love here is the sides. There’s usually always a buffet selection of greens and appetizers for you to get to go with your giant plate of meat. Sometimes they even include sushi! My favorite side so far is the cucumber salad with crab meat. Yummm.

Here’s a picture of some of the sides I got.

My plate of sides that I got to go with the giant slabs of meat at Carretão.

My plate of sides that I got to go with the giant slabs of meat at Carretão.

And here’s one of our favorite staff members with his giant knife..

GIANT BARBECUED MEAT SKEWER YAYYYYYYYYY

GIANT BARBECUED MEAT SKEWER YAYYYYYYYYY

Mmm steak…

One guy was bringing around steak. "Mmmm," says Lilly's face.

One guy was bringing around steak. “Mmmm,” says Lilly’s face.

Our price came out to about R$ 60 per person, or about $30 USD, including our drinks (they each got a caipirinha, and I got a juice). Not bad at all! I know that at the more expensive churrascarias, the price is probably double that..! Still, I may have to try one at some point, just to see..!

Leave a Reply

