I Love Portuguese: Version 2

I-Love-Portuguese

Today I bring you another edition of “I Love Portuguese”! After my last post, many of my Brazilian friends got all excited about adding to the list… so THAT was fun. :D So many terrible inappropriate and somewhat-untranslatable things that I can now say!

..But I probably won’t since they’re very context-specific and not at all polite. Bahahaha.

Onwards!

  • a/o capeta – [noun] the devil
    A term used for someone evil or very mean. For example, someone you think is a real bitch, or an ex-girlfriend who cheated on you and broke your heart. Yep, she’s the devil. Seems like you can use it for men and women both, but I learned it in the context of describing women.
  • a/o peguete  – [noun] someone you’re seeing/fucking, your “date” for the night
    This literally translates to “the one you’re getting with” (from the verb “pegar” which means “to get with” a person). It usually has the connotation of a non-relationship, meaning that it’s usually someone you’re just seeing or fucking for the time-being, and it’s not serious.
  • dar uns pegas – [verb] to make out
    Again, this comes from the verb “pegar” which means both “to get” (a thing) and “to get with” (a person). This literally translates to “to give some getting-withs”… Which, now that I translate it, makes almost no sense in English.. But it KIND OF DOES. Amirite?
  • a fancha – [noun] dyke, homo (female), lesbian
    I love this word. It’s the Brazilian Portuguese equivalent of “dyke” but without the connotation of masculinity. I’ve been told that a lot of people who aren’t gay or are not familiar with the gay community don’t know this word… Even better! It’s the perfect word to use to talk about whether or not someone sets off your gaydar, without straight people around you knowing what you’re talking about. I have yet to hear of a word like this in English. (Oh, and the augmentative form of this word is fanchona, which one might translate as “a big dyke”.)
  • gamar – [verb] to fall in love with
    The context in which I learned this was the following: in response to a youtube video of a hot Brazilian singer, a (presumably male, from the picture) commented “gamei.” After conferring with a Brazilian friend, I would translate this as “I’m in love” though, literally it would be more like “I fell in love with her.”
  • estar puto/puta – [verb] to be pissed
    This one cracked me up when I first heard it a couple of months ago. “Puta” is Portuguese (and Spanish) for whore, but in Brazilian Portuguese when you say that you “are ‘puta'” it simply means you’re angry. If you’re a man, you would use the masculine form “puto,” and if you’re a woman you would use the feminine form “puta.” As for gender queer folks, I guess you just get to pick! And most likely if you pick the opposite of what someone else thinks you are, they might correct you. Such is the way of a gendered language.
  • a bicha – [noun] fag, queen, homo (male), fairy
    Literally, a “bicha” is a worm. This is an offensive term used to describe a gay man, usually one that is effeminate or queen-y. However, like many pejorative words, it has been reclaimed by the gays, and you might hear one gay guy calling another gay guy “bicha” in a teasing, coy, or simply catty way, without any intention of actually offending anyone. I think the best English equivalent is probably something along the lines of “queen” or “fairy.” I’m also told that sometimes people use it to call each other “pansies” or “wusses.”
  • a biba – [noun] fag, queen, homo (male), fairy
    A slighter cuter term that means the same as “bicha.” It has less of an offensive connotation, as I believe it is less known outside of the gay community.

Okay, that’s it for today. Many many many many..MANY more to come, lol. I continue to be impressed by the vast amount of Brazilian slang that exists.

Leave a Reply

